• The winners will be announced at 9th May at MOSI


    The winners will be announced at 9th May at MOSI

Greenbuild awards shortlist revealed
By editor | 02 Mar, 2012
Print  |   Email   |
The inaugural Greenbuild awards will recognise excellence in sustainable buildings, with a particular focus on those projects that can illustrate an understanding of the importance of building performance in use.

The building sector categories – domestic newbuild, domestic refurb, education buildings, leisure buildings and workplace buildings – are judged by Liz Reason from Green Gauge Trust, Kerry Mashford from the Technology Strategy Board and Paul Ruyssevelt from Ruyssevelt Consulting. After weeks of deliberation, the judges have chosen the finalists, with the winners to be announced at a celebratory dinner on 9th May at Manchester’s Museum of Science and Industry. Judge Liz Reason commented: “The importance of monitoring and evaluating the energy performance of our buildings is at last being understood and we can see the real benefits from these competition entries – fantastic learning of what works and what doesn’t – to make subsequent projects so much better for others in the industry. Bring it on!”

The shortlisted entries are:

Domestic newbuild
  • Greenwatt Way, PRP Architects
  • Trinity Close, Dove Jeffery Homes
  • Wimbish, Parsons + Whittley Architects
  • David Little’s house, Joyner Group
  • The Camden Passivhaus, Bere Architects
  • The Larch House, Bere Architects
  • The Lime House, Bere Architects
Domestic retrofit
  • Milnrow Road, Pozzoni
  • Bowes Street, Manchester City Council
  • Moss Bank, Forrest
  • Grove Road, Bere Architects
  • Passfield Drive, Bere Architects
Leisure buildings
  • Brockholes Visitor Centre, Adam Khan Architects/Max Fordham
  • Mayville Community Centre, Bere Architects
Education buildings
  • LICA, Sheppard Robson
  • Isis Education Centre, David Morley Architects
  • The Green, GB Building Solutions
  • Creative Learning Centre, ECE Architecture
  • Newport High School, Leadbitter
  • Kay House Duryard, Exeter University
Workplace buildings
  • Houghton-le-Spring Primary Care Centre, Willmott Dixon
  • Hillcrest HQ, Hillcrest Housing Association
  • Werneth Primary Care Centre, Community 1st  Oldham 
  • Pool Innovation Centre, Aedas
  • Three Piccadilly Place, Carillion FM
  • Severn Trent Water, Glen Howells Architect
  • 9 Millbank, Cavendish Engineers
Behavioural change
  • Venue Cymru
  • Northwards Housing
  • Alumet
  • University of Bradford
  • Westminster Magistrates Court, Hoare Lea
  • Denby Dale Passivhaus, Green Building Store
  • HQ, Frankland Tree Services
  • Avondale Road, Oliver Heath
Retrofit product
(judged by University of Salford)
  • CAHV-P500YA-HPB Ecodan monobloc air source heat pump boiler, Mitsubishi Electric
  • ThermoShell internal wall insulation system, Knauf Insulation
  • Biofan, EnviroVent
  • WWK300 air source heat pump, Stiebel Eltron
  • 0.8wmk2 window, Warmseal
  • ReAction, Moores
  • VPhase unit, VPhase
  • Green Heat Module, Wood Energy
  • Voltis Home, Marshall-Tufflex
  • IdealGuard secure letter box, Power Prize
All the shortlisted entries for the Greenbuild awards, in association with Green Gauge Trust, will be showcased in the April issue of Greenbuild magazine, as well as part of the exhibition at Greenbuild Expo on 9th and 10th May at Manchester Central.

Search related articles
Copyright © 2011 Greenbuild News.